Sir Alec Cairncross Prize

Every year the Scottish Economic Society awards a prize of £1000 for the best paper presented at the annual conference by a junior economist (currently registered for a PhD or who has successfully completed a PhD within the last five years). Consideration for the prize presupposes conference attendance and society membership.

Sir Alec Cairncross was a Scottish economist that was instrumental in the foundation of the Scottish Economic Society in 1953. He served as the first president and was the first editor of its Journal, the Scottish Journal of Political Economy.

Past Caincross Prize winners

2017 (joint winners) Leonardo Madio University of York Effects of Ad-Blockers Adoption on Digital Piracy: A Blessing or a Curse?
2017 (joint winners) Tanya Wilson University of Stirling Asian Gold : Expected Returns to Crime and Thieves Behaviour
2016 Sarah Dahmann DIW How Does Education Improve Cognitive Skills? Instructional Time versus Timing of Instruction
2015 Jonathan Smith Cambridge University Do low interest rates spur bank risk-taking?
2014 Theodore Koutmerides University of St Andrew's The Market for 'Rough Diamonds': Information, Finance and Wage Inequality
2013 Yu Aoki University of Aberdeen An Outcome of Free Labour Supply: Effects of Volunteer Work on Mortality. A Natural Experiment Using Earthquake Shocks in Japan.
2012 Andrea Schneider WWU Muenster Taxation of mobile firms with unknown mobility
2011 Heather Brown University of Aberdeen Marriage, BMI and Wages: A double selection approach